Skip to content

Interview With Anielka (Part1)

April 7, 2008

Here is the first part of an interview with Anielka, the Program Director of EI and a tireless worker loved by everyone here in EI.Connecting, visiting, caring - Anielka

How did EI find you?

Earlier I was an elementary school teacher at a school where EI had participants in the afternoon., and in the morning I was working in the school’s administrative office.

One day Kathy came in to learn more about the school and I happened to be there to greet her. I mentioned at one point to Kathy and Leen Jille (an EI volunteer) that I was interested in looking for a new job someday in the future.

Upon finishing our conversation, Leen, asked me if I would like to work for the organization in the future, to which I responded right away “yes.” Later on I was called to have an interview; we had lunch with 5 people who interviewed me for a long while. After that, they offered me a part-time position which later turned into a full time one.

Do you like to work for EI?

I like my job very much; I have a passion for it. I had been a teacher for 10 years. The opportunity to keep working in the education field with children and young people of my country, and to establish a direct contact with them and their families make me feel that I am an asset to the Nicaraguan society. Above all, it fulfills me with a great personal and professional satisfaction.

What makes EI a great organization / or maybe a not so great one?

EI is a great organization in this country and what makes it different from other organizations is the direct contact we have with its staff, the volunteers, and the children and their families. Not only are we giving away material things, but we are trying to improve the participants’ quality of life by making positive and significant changes and by encouraging and motivating them to move forward on their own. We are only the facilitators.

What kind of experience have you acquired, or have learned during the time working for EI?

The time spent working for EI has had the same effects on me as it has on the participants of the program; working for EI has taught me to be a more sensitive person. Living so close to the children’s limitations, has taught me to appreciate what I have – my family, friends, and home – even more. I have learned to be more patient and tolerant towards others. I have been learning English and leadership skills. I have learned to identify problems in their early stages and facilitate solutions. My computer knowledge has augmented greatly, I have been learning the culture and I have been learning how to analyze social problems and to become a facilitator.

What do you like about the program?

I like all of it as a whole. For me, EI is a very holistic program: it includes the educational, social, and health areas, three very basic aspects in the personal and professional development of every single human being. EI truly empowers its participants and their families. It gives them the sense that they are part of the solution and not just being handed a solution.


Bookmark and Share
About Empowerment International

In Nicaragua 50% of the kids that start 1st grade never make it to 5th grade. It is our goal to make this percentage drop significantly.

$30/month is what it takes us at Empowerment International to put a child in school. If you would like to help a child stay in school and get better life, please click on the link below or contact us

Donate at Change.org

Leave a Reply

