Skip to content

I am Empowered

August 8, 2008

Lisbeth Hernandez is one of our program interns. She graduated from high school last year with the help of EI and is attending college in exchange for interning with us now. She is a symbol of success of our program and clearly proves that education brings true empowerment.

Here is a what she has to say about the program:

When I had the opportunity to participate in Empowerment International I was very excited to know that people were helping other people. Empowerment International has helped me so much to move ahead with my studies and to have a professional future. It has also helped me with my school supplies and all that I have needed.

Now I am working with Empowerment International while attending the university. Thanks to the EI staff I have learned many great things and have had many great experiences. EI respects kids like me.

Personally, my work as an intern with Empowerment international is to visit hotels and coffee shops in Granada and put in brochures. Also, I am in charge of updating the database which consists of report cards, attendance and home visits Recently I have been given the opportunity to facilitate the parent meetings and I like this very much because it is part of my career path. This work has taught me how to be more punctual, organized and alert.

I believe that the work of EI is great and that they have a great heart to help poor children like us and they have been a blessing to kids like us…children who want to study but their parents can’t afford to pay for the materials. And for families that don’t understand how much value education has for the future of their children.


Bookmark and Share

In Nicaragua 50% of the kids that start 1st grade never make it to 5th grade. It is our goal to make this percentage drop significantly.

$30/month is what it takes us at Empowerment International to put a child in school. If you would like to help a child stay in school and get better life, please click on the link below or contact us

Donate at Change.org

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

