Skip to content

Impressions about Fiesta De Esperanza- Carla

September 19, 2008

For the next few days, we bring you the impressions of our wonderful kids on the Fiesta De Esperanza we celebrated on September 6th in Colorado. There was music, dancing, food, drinks and discussion on the lives of EI kids. It was a huge success and kids in Nicaragua talked to their sponsors via skype! The children were nervous of taking center stage initially but did a great job of talking about their lives ultimately.

Here is what Carla, our young program coordinator,  thought of the event.

“I want to thank Kathy for giving me the opportunity of participating in the “FIESTA DE ESPERANZA.”  I was very nervous when I saw the people that were at the party through Skype, and at the same time I was very anxious when it was my turn to speak.

I did not want to come in to the room; my hands were cold, but Darcy and Patrick(two of EI volunteers), encouraged me to do it by telling me that everything was going to be just fine.

When I walked in my stomach ached, I felt I had a rock in my mouth! I spoke briefly about what I felt for the Foundation and the many months I had been working for EI. Towards the end of my speech I got mixed up and did not know what I was talking about.

It was a good experience since it was the first time that all of us in the office prepared this type of event.  Marluz’s turn to meet her sponsor through Skype was emotive. Her sponsor became emotional on learning that Marluz won the second place in the Mathematics Olympics, held at the municipal level, and for all the effort she was making in order to move ahead and become somebody in her life.
We enjoyed pizza, enchilada, potatoes, tacos, and soda. Some did not want to eat anything because they were quite nervous, while others reacted to their nervousness by eating everything!  We really had a very happy time.

I also thank Melkicedeth‘s family for being present during the party.
Thanks to Margarita, Alexander, Yaoska, Elvis, and Marluz for coming over to the party, too.
Thanks to Melissa, Patrick and Anielka for their support and encouragement they gave us in meeting the people who at the same time were getting acquainted with us through Skype.
I want to thank very, very much to those who were at the “Fiesta de Esperanza” for their contributions, support, and sponsorship of the children so that our Foundation can continue its growth and be a great success.

Thanks so much to all.”

– Translated by Leonardo Vila
Bookmark and Share


In Nicaragua 50% of the kids that start 1st grade never make it to 5th grade. It is our goal to make this percentage drop significantly.

$30/month is what it takes us at Empowerment International to put a child in school. If you would like to help a child stay in school and get better life, please click on the link below or contact us

Donate at Change.org

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

