Skip to content

More Impressions of FIESTA DE ESPERANZA- by Joseline and Alexander

September 22, 2008

Here are a few more kids who enjoyed the party “Fiesta de Esperanza” and spoke with their sponsors via Skype.

(Joseline – 14 years old and one of the first kids from Nicaragua to join EI in 2003) says –

“My name is Joseline  and I want to tell you how I felt on September 06, 2008.

Well, that day was the Day of Hope in the United States. We were at the office in Nicaragua and I was feeling really happy and glad to communicate using this new technology. That day I felt really nervous because it was the first time I spoke in English in front of so many people, even though they were not physically in front of me. I felt so nervous that I couldn’t say all the things I wanted to say!

I want to thank you all for your help, for the opportunity to continue studying and, also, for my computing classes (I was the best student and I got a certificate). I want to thank you for my photography classes, too; I am currently the teacher of a group of children.
First of all, I want to thank Kathy, who I love very much, my sponsor, Miss Anielka and everyone who makes this program, Empowerment International, possible. I want to tell that I love playing football with Patrick, Melissa, Karla, Margarita, Elvis and everyone here.

I also want to tell all of those who work in Empowerment International´s Program that you are people with a great heart. God bless you.

THANK YOU!”

12 year old Alexander’s impressions

“On Saturday, I felt very happy and grateful because I was invited to your party and I felt shy when it was my turn to speak. I ate enchilada and pizza, drank soft drinks and I was really happy to speak to Kathy and be with all my friends. It was a very cheerful party, very important and I loved when Patrick made me laugh when he was with Elvis. THANKS FOR INVITING ME.”

Translated by Romina Arvelo

Bookmark and Share


In Nicaragua 50% of the kids that start 1st grade never make it to 5th grade. It is our goal to make this percentage drop significantly.

$30/month is what it takes us at Empowerment International to put a child in school. If you would like to help a child stay in school and get better life, please click on the link below or contact us

Donate at Change.org

Leave a Reply

